The iMessage is a default messaging application for the iOS operating system and it delivers multiple features, such as “Track Flights”, ”Hand Written Notes”, and “Screen Effects”. As in the iOS 16.0 update, Apple has introduced a new feature on the iMessage app which is “Report Junk”.
This post will illustrate the two methods for avoiding the report junk option on iPhone.
How to Undo Report Junk Action on iPhone
Apple does not provide any options in the settings to undo the report junk action, however, we can apply the two methods to dismiss the report junk option on the iPhone which are described below:
- Update the iOS Firmware to the Latest Version
- Tap on the Blank Surface When Report Junk Option is Displayed on the Screen
Method 1: Update the iOS Firmware to the Latest Version
The report junk option in iOS version 16.0 appears right after when we select the “Delete” option. At that moment, the user often mistakenly selects the “Report Junk” option:
Nowadays, Apple has modified this feature after getting feedback from customers. As in iOS 16.1, there are three options displayed on the screen which are “Delete”, “Delete and Report Junk”, and “Cancel” as shown below:
These options are only available when we have the “16.1 version of the iOS” operating system. In case, if the OS is updated, then follow the below stated steps to get the latest Apple iOS updates:
Step 1: Launch the settings on the iPhone device.
Step 2: Select the “General” choice and hit the “Software Update” option:
Step 3: Hit the “Download and Install” tab.
Method 2: Tap on the Blank Surface When Report Junk Option is Displayed on the Screen
In this method, simply tap on the blank surface when the report junk option is displayed on the screen. Doing so will dismiss the dialog box that contains “Report Junk” options and the message will be deleted directly.
Do Report Junk Block the Number?
When we mistakenly tap on the report junk option, the phone number will be sent to the carrier service providers as well as to the “Apple” to stop the spam message. If we report a phone number only one time unintentionally then the number will not be “blocked” and if we report a number multiple times then it might be possible the phone number will be blocked. The Report junk option only displays when we delete an unknown number that is not saved on our device.
We have wrapped up the two methods to avoid the report junk feature and information whether it blocks the phone number or not.
The “Report Junk” is a feature on the iMessage app that appears right after when we delete an unknown phone number message. This process will send that number to the carrier or Apple as a spam phone number, but it does not block anything if we mistakenly select this option for the first time. However, we can avoid this by applying two alternate methods, such as “update the iOS software to the latest version”, and “tap on the blank surface when the Report Junk option is displayed on the screen”. This blog has explained suitable methods to avoid report junk features and information whether this feature will block the phone number or not.